Home » Uncategorized » Etsy feature: goodgosh

Etsy feature: goodgosh

Those of you who know me may have noticed that I love Elephants. They have been my favorite animal since I was in sixth grade and decided that horses were too boring and unoriginal a favorite (although secretly I still love horses too). Whenever I see Elephants in an Etsy store my interest is piqued. Of course when I saw these awesome traveling elephant coasters from goodgosh, I couldn’t resist.

Goodgosh is run by Peggy O’Neil, who owns and runs Mishawaka Art and Frame Gallery in Mishawaka, Indiana. In addition to way cool coasters, Peggy makes fun and witty cards. She was nice enough to take some time to answer a barage of questions.

Celeste: Can you tell me a little about how the coasters are made? I don’t want you to give away trade secrets or anything, just a tiny insight into your process.

Peggy: For most of my coasters I take the images from certain photos I’ve taken, copy them and transfer them onto tiles, glue cork to the backs and put 3 coats of varnish to seal them.

Celeste: Does the elephant have a name?

Peggy: This is my “traveling elephant”. He makes me smile and feel sort of wistful with the places he goes and gets to see. Some of the places I’ve been to and others I hope to see, but just in case I don’t- he’s doing it for me. πŸ™‚

Celeste: What does the handmade movement mean to you?

Peggy: It means more to me than it might to some people because I rely on it for a living with my job. Ha! I try to educate people on the importance of handmade verses mass produced in China and it’s encouraging to see the positive responses and the light bulbs go on. I can’t imagine a life without artists and the art they create! People sometimes don’t realize just how much love, light and joy we as artists put into the world. It’s time to spread the word and enlighten people.

Celeste: Other than holding drinks, do you suggest any other uses for the coasters?

Peggy: There’s always other uses for everything…I’ve put frames around some of them, people have put them on little easels, you can use them in regular household tile jobs by interspersing a handmade tile throughout your designed back splash or floor, you can also use them as paperweights and to hold the tape measure down while you’re struggling to hold it still.

Celeste: Your cards are always witty and fun. Do you ever get witty card maker’s block? How do you get through it? What usually comes first: the picture or the caption?

Peggy: Heck yes I get witty block! We all get consumed by the stresses of life sometimes and on some days or weeks it’s hard to be clever, but it is also that sense of humor that gets me through those stressful times so it doesn’t take too long before something amuses me. It can be something I see or hear that gets the wheels turning and off I go! There are photos that sit for weeks that I’ll look at until I get that “aha!” moment and know what they are destined for.


So if you are looking for some fun and unique coasters, or witty and wild greeting cards, head on over to goodgosh! You can follow her on twitter and fan her on facebook to get all the updates!

8 thoughts on “Etsy feature: goodgosh

  1. What a wonderful article. I just love Peggy's cards (and Peggy too!) Sometimes she tweets a link to one of her cards when I need a lil pick me up, pouts a smile on my face everytime!

  2. Love, love Peggy's unique Etsy store–and tracked down her interview here. And now have also discovered another cool etsian-artisan–Elephunk! Great blog and interview; thanks!

  3. Thanks you guys! And thank you to Elephunk for doing this! Anytime I can help bring a smile I consider it a job well done. πŸ™‚

  4. Nice feature Elephunk. Just couldn't be happier to see Peggy's stuff showing up in a new place. Sometimes I peruse her shop just because I need a little 'perspective' on things. I never leave the shop w/o a smile on my face.

  5. Another wonderful article about an awesome artist! GG is definitely one of a kind, and I can't imagine going more than a day without a dose of her wit! LOVE goodgosh!

  6. Saw the “underwear”card posted and I have to see her other stuff. That's the funniest thing I've seen in a long time! I think she's right about artists in the world. Why own anything if it's not beautiful?

  7. Wonderful article! And those coasters are so unique.
    My favorite is the 'I'm not wearing any underwear' card. Lol
    That just had me laughing πŸ˜€

  8. Great Interview. I enjoyed reading it very much. I recently visited her store and spent an hour browsing and reading her cards. Many interesting things to look at. I am currently searching through old pictures for Peggy to make into coasters for me. I want to use them as a mini wall deco rather then for drinks.

Leave a Reply

