Home » Uncategorized » June 5 Sneak Attack Interviews–MargotGallery and PainterGenie

June 5 Sneak Attack Interviews–MargotGallery and PainterGenie

Monkeytreecreations hosted a sneak attack on June 5, 2009 on MargotGallery and paintergenie. MargotGallery got 9 sales and had this to say about the experience:

Celeste: What was your reaction when you realized you’d been sneak attacked?

MargotGallery: I was completely surprised and totally thrilled! I arrived home that evening to find that my sales had gone from 0 to 9 in just a matter of hours. Then, I figured out that I’d been a “victim” of a sneak attack. What a great way to support artisans on Etsy!

Celeste: Is there anything else you’d like my blog readers to know?

MargotGallery: My name is Nancy Arnold and I am new to Etsy and to selling my art, in general. But I am having a wonderful time building my Etsy shop, MargotGallery, and creating mixed media collages that I can share with others, via Etsy. I invite others to visit my shop and view my profile for more details about me and my shop name, MargotGallery. Thanks again to all those who supported me during last week’s sneak attack.


Paintergenie got 3 sales during the sneak attack and has this to say about it:

Celeste: What was your reaction when you realized you’d been sneak attacked

Paintergenie: I needed a little boost of confidence and that definitely did the job!! I have only been on Etsy for a couple of months, my work is relatively new for me as far as working on fabrics. I practiced for a couple of years before deciding to sell. Working alone on project, driven mostly by your instinct and heart, I am sure many of us feel as artists that you have these moment of ‘oh what I am doing and what is this really all about?’. So the appreciation is a wonderful way to recognize that you are on the right path.

I realize that my prices are high for a yard and so I decided recently to sell the odd pieces that could be used for artists that needed small pieces for their work like quilting maybe. So to have been chosen right now again was perfect timing. I realize that it is going to take a while to gain appreciation and trust. I do like to offer good quality fabrics and mostly natural fibers and take a lot of effort making that perfect print. I do all the prints by hand in my work shop. Making a yard requires very large screens, it is quite a physical experience to say the least! I am working on organic fabric next and to reduce my prices I decided to look for the mills instead of buying from the stores. I hope to soon come up with more cost effective fabrics that are still of the best quality.

Celeste: Is there anything else you’d like my blog readers to know?

Paintergenie: As far as more about me, I have painted all my life, since a tiny girl I knew it was for me. I studied at Parsons School of Design in New York and followed my studies in London at Central Saint Martins and got a degree in set design. At the time I did not really think I could make a living out of painting so I decided on something more structured, like set design. I worked in the movie industry for 7 years and got worn out pretty fast and it is a dying industry. One day I had a conversation with an interior designer that change my course, I picked up a brush again and I got tears in my eyes because I realized that I had forgotten the feeling of that simple act of expressing yourself with a brush and paint and since then I have never looked back. I now have a company dedicated to decorative finishes for private and commercial clients. I have two other websites you can check out www.valentineviannay.com and www.paintergenie.com.
I truly believe that there is nothing more precious than hand made goods, it is the expression of our soul and love. My hands have guided me through all my experiences and many to follow I am sure.

*******************

Be sure to check out MargotGallery for great mixed media collages and paintergenie for gorgeous hand silk painted fabrics. And don’t forget to stop by handmademovement.com for more info on sneak attacks!

3 thoughts on “June 5 Sneak Attack Interviews–MargotGallery and PainterGenie

Leave a Reply

