Home » Uncategorized » Fiber Fridays: My first Spinning project

Fiber Fridays: My first Spinning project

I’ve been collecting rovings and batts from yarn2spin for a couple of months now. I bought them with the intention of making wet felted hats and cute needle felted wonders, but I’ve recently been rekindling my interest in knitting and crochet. Which of course leads to a fondness for yarn, which then leads to wanting to learn to spin my own. And since I have several drawers full of roving, I figured I should give it a try!

My first attempt failed utterly, mostly because I hadn’t really understood the drafting process. I found this video very helpful, and last night I managed to spin my first single:

It is tremendously uneven, and I’m not sure what to do next. I have a lot more of the roving, but I am not sure if I should draft more roving into this length, or start a new single ply with this one into yarn. I still have a lot to learn, but I’m having a lot of fun!

See what other fabulous fiber artists are doing for fiber friday!

6 thoughts on “Fiber Fridays: My first Spinning project

  1. your yarn is looking pretty good so far-it takes a long time to get perfect yarn-and by that time you want to make art yarn-the lumpy kind-and can't do it–but its all fun along the way–happy spinning!

  2. Well, that sure looks a lot better than my first (and second and third and fourth) attempts, and that was with my teacher sitting right next to me! Well done! Almost makes me want to get my drop spindle out again. Almost.

  3. That's great! I'm a new spinner and I do think it's hard to learn. Took me forever to get to the point where I felt like I really could do it. Keep at it!

    Thanks for sharing with Fiber Arts Friday!

Leave a Reply

