Home » Uncategorized » She wore a Raspberry Beret

She wore a Raspberry Beret

Last month I did a giveaway for a custom beret or sun hat on the Team NorGA blog. The winner, by happy coincidence, was my friend Stockannette from TeamSNEAK. After going back and forth a bit, she realized exactly what kind of hat she wanted.

“Ooh! Can I have a Raspberry Beret?” she asked me. I raised an eyebrow.

“As in a beret with raspberries on it or a raspberry colored beret?” I asked.

She said either one would work. I admit I found that a bit odd. She was so excited about getting a raspberry beret, and yet didn’t seem to have any idea what it should look like. So I scoured the internet for fabric with raspberries on it (there is surprisingly little to choose from–strawberries are all over the place, raspberries: not so much). And because she wanted the beret to be a bit warmer for the winter, I told her I would do the lining and band in raspberry colored flannel. Once we had the particulars worked out, I came back to the Sneak Attackers UNITE! thread, and there was Stockannette, singing away:

“She wore a Raspberry beret The kind you find in a second hand store Raspberry beret And if it was warm she wouldn’t wear much more Raspberry beret I think I love her”

A light went off in my head. That’s why she wants a Raspberry Beret! Because of the Prince song! Although, the raspberry beret she’s getting is not the kind you find in a second hand store:

I plan to make another raspberry beret to list in my etsy shop, so stay tuned!

One thought on “She wore a Raspberry Beret

  1. That's a wonderful story! So glad Stockannette won your giveaway, she's nice. I do hope she is thrilled with that amazing hat. The raspberry-print fabric is fab.
    Found your blog via Parksideharmony's Tweet, by the way. Great Blog!

Leave a Reply

