Home » art and craft » Work in Progress–MOE Project Runway Complete!

Work in Progress–MOE Project Runway Complete!

I missed the deadline for the Milliners of Etsy Bridal Project Runway Challenge, and thus was not eligible for the actual competition. Despite this, I wanted to push on and finish the crochet hat and veil that I had designed. After all, I had already put about fifteen hours into the project when the deadline came and went. And I am glad I did! I am very proud of the finished product.

This picture shows the hand crocheted motifs that decorate the wire frame of the hat. If you look closely, you can see the crin covering and even some of the ribbon wrapped wire of the frame.

This picture shows the trailing cascade veil. I machine stitched pearl cotton thread around the edge of the veil as a decorative trim and to tie it in with the crochet theme of the hat. The veil is made of fine nylon illusion tulle and has two tiers.

Things I learned from this project:

  1. Everything takes longer than I think it will. All told, this hat took about 19 and a half hours of crafting time. 
  2. I learned a lot of new hat making techniques! Before this hat I had never made a crochet motif (I had started a few doilies, but never finished them). I had never made a wire hat frame before. I had never worked with horsehair crin before, and I had never made a traditional wedding veil. The fact that I was teaching myself how to do basically every part of this hat as I went probably explains lesson #1.

Dagmar has been hard at work on the wedding dress that inspired this hat as well:

I can’t wait to see it when she is done!

One thought on “Work in Progress–MOE Project Runway Complete!

  1. Nice job!!
    I am with you on
    “everything takes longer than I think it will” when I am learning something new but
    it's great fun to explore new techniques, isn't it?

    Audrey
    aka AudreyGardenLady

Leave a Reply

