Home » Buy Handmade » Weekly Wishlist–I wish I’d thought of that!

Weekly Wishlist–I wish I’d thought of that!

Every now and then someone comes up with something so ingeniously practical that I wish I had been smart enough to invent it myself. Of course, a quick look at my hat shop will reveal that practical is not exactly my forte, so it is fortunate that these other Etsy sellers can turn their creative minds to things that are actually useful.

Take for example this microwaveable bowl pot holder:

Made by Rita of RitasCreationsOnEtsy, these potholders are the perfect solution what has until now been an eternal problem: most microwaveable bowls heat up faster than the food that is inside them, leaving you to decide between lukewarm food in a bowl you can reasonably expect to pick up, or nice hot food in a bowl that threatens to melt all the skin off your fingertips. Made fun cotton fabric and a new form of microwaveable batting, these potholders conform to the shape of your bowl–meaning you don’t have to try to maneuver a traditional potholder around the curves of your vessel. And if you are feeling crafty, Rita sells a ebook tutorial on how to make your very own!

 
Anyone who travels in our crazy post 9/11 world knows that having everything you need with you when  you fly is becoming more and more difficult. Struggling airlines are charging for every checked bag at the same time that TSA is limiting what you can carry with you. Since regular liquid lotions are apparently a Threat to National Security, I’d resigned myself to traveling with dry skin. But  not CoquetteBath! Using her lip balm recipe as a starting place she played around with the ingredients until she came up with her own lotion bar. Sweet smell and good for your skin, this babies are also 100% approved for airline travel.

 Everybody has to do laundry. Well, I guess you don’t have to do laundry, but clean clothes are highly encouraged, especially if you intend to leave the house. Dryers are generally not very eco-friendly, with an average carbon footprint of 4.4 pounds of CO2 per load. Shorter drying times mean smaller carbon footprints. But how do you get a shorter drying time? Mr. Wooly  has the answer with his wool dryer balls! Like commercial dryer sheets, wool dryer balls keep  your laundry nice and fluffy. But unlike dryer sheets, they contain no chemicals, absorb water, and keep clothes separate in the machine–which helps clothes dry faster, shortening loads, and helping the environment at the same time!

Now why didn’t I think of that?

6 thoughts on “Weekly Wishlist–I wish I’d thought of that!

  1. What a wonderful post! And thanks so much for the write up on my Microwave Bowl Potholder – that's so awesome of you. I'll twitter and Facebook the post!

  2. Awesome post! I love Rita's bowl holders… I have two of them, and they adorn a fruit bowl and a peanut bowl on my counter, when they're not being called to duty in the microwave or cradling a steaming bowl of something yummy. 🙂 5 stars!

Leave a Reply

